TO: OAO members
OAO's top priority for the 2003 session of the Oregon Legislature was to pass an increase in the statutory minimum personal injury protection (PIP) insurance requirement for Oregon drivers.
The minimum PIP requirement had been set at $10,000 for more than fifteen years. This amount had become woefully inadequate to cover the costs of care for an accident victim.
After months of negotiations, and with strong support from OAO, House Bill 3668 passed the Legislature in late August, literally in the last hours of the 2003 session. Governor Kulongoski has now signed the bill into law.
House Bill 3668 increases the statutory minimum PIP requirement to $15,000 from its current level of $10,000. The Workers Compensation fee schedule will be used to reimburse providers for PIP claims.
Why not more than $15,000? This Legislature was reluctant to increase or mandate anything, so although we initially sought more, in the end, $5,000 was a significant victory.
Key legislators who helped with the passage of House Bill 3668 were:
Representative Alan Bates, D.O. (D-Ashland)
Questions? Call us at 503-224-0007.
15740 Springbrook Court • Lake Oswego, OR 97034